Aging Life Care Association® Awards

Each year ALCA holds an Association Business Meeting, which features a “state of the association” address by the President and the presentation of awards to Outstanding Chapter Members, the Outstanding Corporate Partner, the President's Award, Adele Elkind Award, and the Distinguished Ambassador in Aging Award.

Distinguished Ambassador in Aging Awards

Each year, since 2019, at the ALCA Annual Business Meeting, ALCA honors an individual or organization that, through their actions, research, or invention has raised national awareness of a critical issue or need in aging and supports the mission and vision of the Aging Life Care Association.



Louise Aronson, MD, MPH, MFA

The 2023 Distinguished Ambassador in Aging (DAA) Award winner is Louise Aronson, MD, MFA! Dr. Aronson is a leading geriatrician, writer, educator, and professor in the Division of Geriatrics at the University of California, San Francisco. Her book Elderhood: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life was a 2020 Pulitzer Prize finalist and a New York Times bestseller.

Dr. Aronson accepted the DAA Award in-person at the 39th Annual ALCA Conference on April 20, 2023, where she also delivered a keynote address on “Aging, Ageism, & the Future of Elderhood”. Looking at how aging and old age have changed dramatically in recent decades, sometimes for the better, and sometimes not; examined how the COVID-19 pandemic demonstrated not only the ageism built into key social structures but also the resilience of older people and the importance of social connections. She frequently challenges her audiences to consider how they conceptualize aging and examine opportunities for how we can all, as individuals and organizations, improve aging and older lives.

"I’m delighted to accept this award, which I view as validation that aging is not a disease but a decades-long life stage that comes with rewards and challenges,” said Aronson.

Dr. Aronson is an inspirational voice and powerful advocate for integrative aging,” said Anne Sansevero, President of the Aging Life Care Association Board. “ALCA is honored to bestow the 2023 DAA Award on her as a leader at the forefront of a new era in how society views and supports aging. Her philosophy and practice in caring for patients supports excellence, collaboration, and has a positive impact on individuals and their families.



Marc Agronin

Marc E. Agronin, MD

Dr. Agronin is a board-certified adult and geriatric psychiatrist and the author of the acclaimed book How We Age: A Doctor’s Journey into the Heart of Growing Old (2011) and its sequel The End of Old Age: Living a Longer, More Purposeful Life (2018).

Dr. Agronin leads Miami Jewish Health’s MIND Institute and is a nationally sought speaker and author -- presenting to ALCA at our 2014 conference and in a special event webinar on the topic of "Increasing Impacts of Social Isolation Among Older Adults" during the pandemic. His work and approach to treating older adults with respect, empathy and dedication, while never losing sight of them as individuals, is at one with how we as Aging Life Care Professionals see our clients.



Jay newton Small

Jay Newton-Small

Jay Newton-Small is CEO and co-founder of MemoryWell, a national network of more than 700 professional writers who craft the life stories and family histories of seniors to help improve their care and chronicle their unique stories. The mission of MemoryWell is “building empathy, one story at a time.” Her work with MemoryWell advances the importance of helping older adults’ quality-of-life experiences with stories that can be shared with family and care providers. Helping older age well and with dignity is one of the foundations of an Aging Life Care Association professional member. Read More...


Marc Middleton

Marc Middleton

Middleton is the one of the leading voices in the growing movement that is Rebranding Aging®. He has created a multi-platform media brand to inspire, assist, and change the landscape of the 50+ population. ALCA is celebrating their own version of “bold” as we head in to the 35th Anniversary, a boldness never more evident during the COVID Pandemic. Read More.. 


Greg Obrien

Greg O'Brien

O’Brien has written a book on the subject titled “On Pluto: Inside the Mind of Alzheimer’s,” which has received widespread acclaim, both for providing a roadmap of how to live with and fight the disease as well as an inspirational treatise on how to stay positive in the midst of what often seem like overwhelming challenges. Read More...

ALCA 2023 Annual Business Meeting Award Winners

Adele Elkind Award Winner


ALCA's most prestigious honor - the Adele Elkind Award - was presented to Lisa Mayfield, Past President of ALCA, Fellow of the Leadership Academy, and member of the Western Region Chapter.

President's Award Winner

Connie McKenzie, RN, CMC awarded each of the 2023 ALCA Chapter Presidents the President's Award for their innovative work in keeping ALCA members connected and engaged

ALCA Excellence Award Winner

Heather Suri

ALCA Rising Star Award Winner

Malika Moore

Outstanding Chapter Member Winners

Florida - Elena Baba
Mid-Atlantic - Lisa Grillo
Midwest - Bridget Ritossa
New England - Sarah Bourque
New Jersey - Margo Tucker
New York - Connie Craig
South Central - Nicole Kulas
Southeast - Bonnie Noble Silberman
Western Region - Janai Quintana

Outstanding Corporate Partner Award Winner

Grandma Joan, accepted by Founder, David Petroski


Annual Business Meeting Celebration