ALCA was originally formed in 1985 as the “National Association of Private Geriatric Care Managers® (NAPGCM).” Membership consisted of approximately 50 members (mostly nurses and social workers), who were business owners and who had a minimum of a Master’s Degree in a Human Resource Management field and two years of supervised experience in a geriatric care setting. The association was seen as a trade association -- one dedicated to growing the businesses of members and to position those members to capture a large market share of this newly emerging field called “geriatric care management.”

NAPGCM was the first to represent the pioneers in a growing and developing field and has had its share of challenges along the way. Building a profession from the ground up is never easy, nor is it easy to build an association to represent and lead that profession. NAPGCM has been fortunate to have enlightened leaders who are dedicated to growing the profession and the association.

In 1993, NAPGCM recognized that the face of care management was not exclusively in the entrepreneurial arena. It was noted that non-profit agencies had been providing services in this area, as were individuals with baccalaureate degrees. In that same year, the NAPGCM membership voted to change the association’s name from National Association of Private Geriatric Care Managers to the National Association of Professional Geriatric Care Managers and to expand the voting membership base to include those individuals who provide care management in all practice settings and those with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree.

As NAPGCM changed the profile of the association to match that of the profession, the association moved from being a trade association with the primary purpose of positioning and promoting member practices to a professional association with the primary purpose of advancing the profession.

The next step in the development of the profession came when NAPGCM and Connecticut Community Care worked together to create a credentialing program for care managers. In 1996, together with eight aging network associations, they developed and initially funded the National Academy of Certified Care Managers (NACCM).

As care management evolved, so did several other “case management” associations. Fragmentation of the profession was inevitable, as no one professional truly understood the complexities of the environment of the future. The health care environment also was changing. Managed care began to infiltrate the American health care system as never before. A variety of assisted living facilities began to offer services to compete with nursing homes. Organized coalitions of health care providers began to form as they positioned themselves to work within or outside of the managed care market.

“Care management” was becoming recognized as “the holistic approach” to dealing with the needs of clients and a wide range of needs, including medical, financial, social, housing, family and personal needs. As the face of care management was changing, the association and the profession began to change as well. Technology, in the form of the NAPGCM website, webinars, member listserv, and social media, has enhanced members’ and consumers’ access to information. New products and conferences provide the tools with which members can improve their businesses and stay abreast of the latest trends in their profession.

The next significant step for NAPGCM and its members took place in August 2006, when members voted to approve a new requirement that all members in the care manager category (currently called “Advanced Professional” category) must hold at least one of four approved certifications. The approved certifications include Care Manager Certified (CMC), Certified Case Manager (CCM), Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager (C-ASWCM), and Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM). This requirement became effective as of January 1, 2010.

Certification became the bellwether of professional geriatric care management. By voting to approve this membership requirement, the profession was elevated and practitioners were recognized as having a specific knowledge and expertise. This also elevated consumer confidence in the services provided by NAPGCM members.

The next bold step in the evolution of the profession was taken in 2014, when NAPGCM hired a branding consultant to evaluate the association, its brand, and the profession it represented. After extensive research, evaluations, surveys, and discussions, the board approved a sweeping plan to reposition and rebrand the association and the profession. Effective May 1, 2015, the association began operating under a new name: Aging Life Care Association® (ALCA). Members are referred to as “Aging Life Care Professionals®.”

ALCA has nine regional chapters. Until 2013, they were all independent nonprofit corporations. Chapters began to merge with the National association as a way to streamline their operations and free up volunteer time that could be spent providing members with more benefits and educational opportunities. By the beginning of 2016, five of the nine chapters will have joined National.

The ALCA Board of Directors continues to meet the demands of the changing senior services environment through careful strategic planning, education, digital marketing and public relations, chapter support, and communication with its members and the public.

Year Location Attendance
2019 Scottsdale, AZ 395
2018 Chicago IL 345
2017 San Antonio TX 309
2016  New York, NY 401
2015 Denver, CO  316 
2014 Nashville, TN  304 
2013 Philadelphia, PA  341 
2012 Seattle, WA  281 
2011 New Orleans, LA  301 
2010 Albuquerque, NM  247 
2009 Chicago, IL  250 
2008 Orlando, FL  267 
2007 Boston, MA  337 
2006 Newport Beach, CA  264 
2005 Tucson, AZ (with NAELA)***  247 
2004 Austin, TX 227
2003 Baltimore, MD** 298
2002 Denver, CO 224
2001 Nashville, TN* 173
2000 West Palm Beach, FL 259
1999 San Diego, CA 219
1998 Chigago, IL 182
1997 New Orleans (with NGA) 162
1996 Tucson, AZ (with NAELA) 215
1995 St. Louis, MO 160
1994 Nassau, Bahamas 138
1993 Pittsburgh, PA 158
1992 Tucson, AZ 135
1991 San Antonio, TX (with NAELA) 160
1990 Washington DC --
1989 San Diego, CA --
1988 Philadelphia, PA --

*The 2001 Conference was moved to March of 2002 due to 9/11.
**Many last minute cancellations due to Hurricane Isabel.
***Originally scheduled for September in New Orleans, LA. Moved to TUcson, AZ for December, due to Hurricane Katrina.

Term President Membership
2019 Lisa Mayfield 1821
2018 Nancy Avitabile 1,778
2017 Amy Cameron O’Rourke 1,783
2016 Dianne McGraw 1,848
2015 Jeff Pine 2,010
2014 Emily Saltz 2,058
2013 Julie Gray 2,035
2012 C. Byron Cordes 2,013
2011 Susan Fleischer 1,904
2010 Linda Fodrini-Johnson 1,986
2009 Phyllis Mensh Brostoff 1,986
2008 Monika White 2,047
2007 Mary Lynn Pannen 2,126
2006 Linda Aufderhaar 2,052
2005 Deborah Newquist 2,007
2004 Lenise Dolen 1,793
2003 Steve Barlam 1,717
2002 Claudia Fine 1,575
2001 Connie Rosenberg 1,526
2000 Dianne Boazman 1,460
1999 Karen Knutson 1,311
1998 Mary Miner 1,127
1997 Elizabeth Bodie Gross
1996 Elizabeth Bodie Gross / Ruth Cohen 880
1995 Ruth Cohen 811
1994 Ruth Cohen / Peter Belson 578
1993 Peter Belson 500
1992 Peter Belson / Rona Bartelstone 360
1991 Rona Bartelstone 360
1990 Rona Bartelstone 250
1989 Rona Bartelstone   
1988 Sarah Cohen / Rona Bartelstone  
1986-1987 Sarah Cohen  

Elizabeth Bodie Gross